2022 ACR-Sheth Foundation Doctoral Symposium

Empowering Students to Create Meaningful Change


Join us for a day centered on professional development, mentorship, and forging meaningful connections between doctoral students and faculty. 


The 2022 ACR Doctoral Symposium is scheduled to be held in person on Thursday, October 20, 2022, from
8:30 am to 4:45 pm in Denver, CO.

Interested students can register for the symposium while they are registering for the main conference. Students are encouraged to register early given that, due to space constraints, registration will be limited to the first 200 students.


The 2022 ACR-Sheth Foundation Doctoral Symposium Co-chairs are:

Nicole Mead, York University. [Contact: nmead@schulich.yorku.ca]

Lawrence Williams, University of Colorado Boulder. [Contact: lawrence.williams@colorado.edu]



8:30 - 8:40 am: Start

8:40 - 9:30 am: Meet the Editors 

  • International Journal of Research in Marketing Editor-in-Chief, Martin Schreier (WU Vienna)

  • Journal of the Association for Consumer Research Editor-in-Chief, Vicki Morwitz (Columbia University)

  • Journal of Consumer Psychology Co-Editor, Jennifer Argo (University of Alberta)

  • Journal of Consumer Research Co-Editor, June Cotte (Western University)

  • Journal of Marketing Co-Editor, Vanitha Swaminathan (University of Pittsburgh)

  • Journal of Marketing Research Co-Editor, Maureen (Mimi) Morrin (Rutgers University Camden)

  • Journal of Public Policy & Marketing Joint Editor-in-Chief, Maura Scott (Florida State University)

9:30 - 10:30 am: Building the Field We Want


Students will break out to work in small groups with a faculty facilitator to discuss how to improve the field in one of the below five areas. Key insights will be distilled and shared with the entire group at the end of the session.

Better Marketing For a Better World

  • Margaret (Meg) Campbell (University of California, Riverside), Pierre Chandon (INSEAD), Gita Johar (Columbia University), Aparna Labroo (Northwestern University)

Equity and Inclusion

  • David Crockett (the University of Illinois at Chicago), Martin Mende (Florida State University, Adriana Samper (Arizona State University), Tiffany White (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)


  • Fleura Bardhi (City University London), Simona Botti (London Business School), Peggy Liu (University of Pittsburgh)


  • Julie Ozanne (University of Melbourne), Bernd Schmitt (Columbia University), Dilip Soman (University of Toronto)


  • Ashlee Humphreys (Northwestern University), Grant Packard (York University), Melanie Wallendorf (University of Arizona), Bram Van den Bergh (Erasmus University Rotterdam)


10:30 - 10:45 am: Coffee break 1

10:45 - 11:30 am: Parallel Session 1

Students will participate in one of two parallel sessions.


Theory (targeted at early-stage students)

  • Eileen Fischer (York University), Ayelet Fishbach (University of Chicago), Christian Wheeler (Stanford University), Pete McGraw (University of Colorado Boulder)


Long-Term Impact (targeted at later-stage students)

  • Jeff Galak (Carnegie Mellon University), Jeff Inman (University of Pittsburgh), Barbara Kahn (University of Pennsylvania), John Lynch (University of Colorado Boulder), Carey Morewedge (Boston University)

11:30 - 12:15 pm: Parallel Session 2

Students will participate in one of two parallel sessions.


Tossing Out Boxes and Arrows (targeted at early-stage students)

  • Amit Bhattacharjee (University of Colorado Boulder), Rob Kozinets (University of Southern California), Norbert Schwarz (University of Southern California), Kathleen Vohs (University of Minnesota), Jared Watson (New York University)


Career Management (targeted at later-stage students)

  • Shankha Basu (University of Leeds), Lauren Cheatham (Roblox), Nina Mazar (Boston University), Nailya Ordabayeva (Dartmouth University), Stefano Puntoni (University of Pennsylvania)


12:15 - 1:30 pm: Lunch at Henry's Tavern

Students will have the opportunity to connect with faculty in a relaxed setting.

Afternoon Session: Shark Tank (Friendly) Research Competition

Students will work in small groups alongside faculty mentors to develop a research proposal in their chosen area of study. Groups will then present their pitch to their entire subgroup. The winner of each subgroup will present to the whole group.


1:30 - 1:45 pm: Shark Tank Intro

1:45 - 2:45 pm: Shark Tank Phase I: Pitch Development

2:45 - 3:15 pm: Shark Tank Phase II: Lightning Presentations (3-slide, 3-minute presentation)

3:15 - 3:30 pm: Coffee break 2

3:30 - 4:45 pm: Shark Tank Phase III: Track Winners Announced, Track Winners Present to Everyone (including Head Judges) + (Closing Remarks), Reception, Overall Winners Announced, Prizes Delivered

Faculty Mentors for the Shark Tank Subgroups

Branding and Innovation

  • Joshua Beck (University of Oregon), Christoph Fuchs (University of Vienna), Ryan Hamilton (Emory University), Kelly Herd (University of Connecticut), Marie-Agnes Parmentier (HEC Montreal), Ryan Rahinel (University of Cincinnati)


  • Elizabeth Cowley (University of Sydney), Daniella Kupor (Boston University), Philip Fernbach (University of Colorado Boulder), Nick Reinholtz (University of Colorado Boulder)

Consumer Culture Theory

  • Melissa Akaka (University of Denver), Pierre-Yann Dolbec (Concordia University), Amber Epp (University of Madison-Wisconsin), Markus Giesler (York University), Linda Price (University of Wyoming),

Judgment and Decision Making

  • Quentin Andre (University of Colorado Boulder), Selin Atalay (Frankfurt School of Finance and Management), Abigail Sussman (University of Chicago), Ana Valenzuela (City University of New York), Jesse Walker (Ohio State University)


Motivation and Emotion

  • Szu-Chi Huang (Stanford University), Kelly Haws (Vanderbilt University), Keith Wilcox (Texas A&M University), Shiri Melumad (University of Pennsylvania), Anthony Salerno (Vanderbilt University)


Social Identity and Influence

  • Alix Barasch (University of Colorado Boulder), Dafna Goor (London Business School), Adriana Samper (Arizona State University), Eesha Sharma (San Diego State University), Caleb Warren (University of Arizona)

Head Judges for the Shark Tank Competition

  • Jennifer Argo (University of Alberta), Kristin Diehl (University of Southern California), Eileen Fischer (York University), Michel Pham (Columbia University), Dilip Soman (University of Toronto)

Questions? Contact Us

Nicole Mead, York University: nmead@schulich.yorku.ca

Lawrence Williams, University of Colorado Boulder: lawrence.williams@colorado.edu